Car Lust: Great Cars of Song: Shut Down

Ah, but nothing seems to catch that whole 1960s fun and sun and cruising the strip zeitgeist like the Beach Boys. Sun, sand, surfin’ … and racing. They did a lot of songs about cars — Little Deuce Coupe, 409–but Shut Down is my favorite. Not being a product of the ’60s (other than being born early in the decade), I came to this song later on, probably in the late ’70s when my sister finally moved out and I had my own room and could listen to whatever music I wanted to without bugging my older brother. I’d sit in my room and play the dickens out of Endless Summer and, errr, well, with my feet up on my desk doing physics and chemistry homework, but that’s another and altogether boring story (nerd alert!).To a Wisconsin teenager, all of that surfin’ safari stuff seemed like paradise.

via Car Lust: Great Cars of Song: Shut Down.

Leave a Reply

